Touro College of Pharmacy Student David Yoo Receives Prestigious 2011 “Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award” from the United States Public Health Service

Date: May 24, 2011
Media Contact:

Barbara Franklin
Director of Communications
212-463-0400 x5530

New York, N.Y. - David Yoo, left, a second-year Doctor of Pharmacy student at Touro College of Pharmacy, recently received the 2011 “Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award” from the United States Public Health Service (USPHS).

Bestowed annually, the USPHS established the award to recognize pharmacy students who have demonstrated a commitment to public health and to encourage students to play more active roles in advancing public health, especially in the progress of the science-based objectives of the National Institutes of Health’s “Healthy People 2020” campaign. This campaign provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.

“This award recognizes the excellence and commitment of Mr. Yoo to improving the public’s health and reflects the College’s mission to graduate compassionate, culturally-competent health care professionals who improve public health through community engagement,” said Touro College of Pharmacy Dean Dr. Stuart Feldman. “The award reflects positively on the many students and faculty who advance the public health mission of the College.”

Mr. Yoo received the award for activities that have benefitted underserved and needy populations. His achievements include organizing fellow students to assist seniors living in New York City Housing Authority (NYCHA) facilities to enroll in prescription drug plans so that they would receive their Medicare Part D Prescription Drug Benefits. This effort was in connection with a collaborative program between Touro College of Pharmacy, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS), and NYCHA. This program will be fully underway in November 2011.

The over 100 schools of pharmacy in the U.S. are eligible to nominate one student for the award. After a rigorous screening procedure, recipients are selected by an awards committee of the Pharmacist Professional Advisory Committee (PharmPAC) of the USPHS. The award consists of a certificate and plaque, the book “Plagues and Politics: The Story of the United States Public Health Service” and a letter signed by PharmPAC.

Last year, Geraldine Okwuonu, a second year student, received the award for demonstrating a commitment to the care and well-being of underserved and uninsured cancer patients at the Ralph Lauren Cancer Center in Harlem.

Pictured right is Dr. Sherri Yoder, commander, USPHS, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, who presented the award to Mr. Yoo at a ceremony held on May 16. During the ceremony, Dr. Yoder discussed opportunities for pharmacy students and pharmacists within the USPHS.

Touro College of Pharmacy, which opened its doors in Harlem in September of 2008, is the first school of pharmacy to open in New York in 70 years and is dedicated to increasing educational opportunities in Harlem and serving the Harlem community.