Touro University Nevada professor receives national recognition

Date: April 08, 2010
Media Contact:

Mandi McCary
PR Plus

LAS VEGAS – Touro University Nevada (TUN) professor, David J. Park, DO, FAAFP, FACOFP, received recognition from the American College of Osteopathic Family Physician (ACOFP) at its 47th annual convention, which was recently held in Las Vegas.

Dr. Park was one of 14 family physicians from around the country and the only Nevadan to have received the Fellow of the ACOFP designation award this year. This award recognizes experience, dedication and contributions of the highest order to the advancement of osteopathic family medicine both locally and nationally.

The awards committee also honored eight of the 14 physicians, including Dr. Park, with the ACOFP Fellows Outstanding Paper Crest Award for submission of original scientific papers that demonstrated thoughtful and critical thinking, plus a level of excellence suitable for publication. Dr. Park’s paper, “A Clinical Review of Chronic Cough from a Primary Care Perspective,” received an additional honor as the Most Outstanding Scientific Paper submitted to ACOFP for 2010.

“Dr. Park is an outstanding faculty member and physician,” said Senior Provost & CEO, Michael Harter, Ph.D. “This is a well-deserved honor.”

As the program co-chair for the convention Dr. Park was instrumental in the record attendance of nearly 1,500 registered attendees. He was recognized at the presidential banquet for his dedication and effort in what was considered to be the most successful scientific convention in the history of the ACOFP organization.

Dr. Park is a dual board certified osteopathic family physician. He completed his postgraduate training in New York at Mt. Sinai Family Practice Residency Program at Jamaica Hospital, where upon completion he stayed on as faculty for four years. In 2005, Dr. Park moved to Nevada where he currently serves as Chair of the Primary Care Department at Touro University Nevada College of Osteopathic Medicine. In 2006, he also became the Director of Valley Hospital’s Family Medicine Residency Program and in 2007 he was elected on to the Board of Directors for the Nevada Osteopathic Medical Association. He remains active in clinical practice.