Touro Nevada Medical School Dean Elected to Mastership in American College of Physicians

Date: November 21, 2013
Dr. Mitchell D. Forman, dean of the Touro University Nevada Medical School
Dr. Mitchell D. Forman, dean of the Touro University Nevada Medical School
Media Contact:

Mandi McCary

Las Vegas, NV. – The American College of Physicians (ACP) has voted to elect the Dean of Touro University Nevada’s Medical School, Mitchell D. Forman, DO, FACOI, FACP, FACR to Mastership in the American College of Physicians. Dr. Forman becomes the first practicing physician in the state of Nevada to receive this honor. The first Mastership in the ACP was presented in 1923.

Joining Touro University Nevada at its inception in 2004, Dr. Forman is the founding Dean and Professor of Medicine at the University’s College of Osteopathic Medicine. He has been on the academic faculty at both allopathic (M.D.) and osteopathic (D.O.) medical schools, and actively involved in medical education at a variety of residency training programs, throughout his career. He is Board Certified in Internal Medicine and Rheumatology, and has specialized in the practice of Arthritis and Rheumatic Diseases for more than 35 years.  Dr. Forman is a fellow of the American College of Rheumatology, the American College of Osteopathic Internists, and the American College of Physicians. He was the chair of the American College of Osteopathic Internists Ethics Committee and was awarded the 2008 National Internist of the Year by the American College of Osteopathic Internists.  Dr. Forman is also president-elect of the Nevada State Medical Association and past president of the Clark County Medical Society.

Mastership is conferred only on a very select number of candidates around the country who are deemed distinguished through the practice of internal medicine and represent the qualities of strength of character, integrity, bravery, perseverance, compassion, devotion, steadiness and clinical competence. Emphasis is placed on the candidate’s service as a mentor, advocacy for quality in internal medicine, a commitment to social justice, deep interest in people, and the creation of communities of medicine. Additionally, candidates receiving this honor must be deemed a "citizen physician," educational innovator, humanist, and learner-teacher who inspires others to seek high standards and excellence in the specialty of internal medicine.

“Touro University Nevada is pleased that Dr. Forman has received this national recognition for his great work in medicine and education,” said Dr. Michael Harter, Senior Provost and CEO.  “In the 90-year history of this honor being given, Dr. Forman is the first practicing Nevada physician to be so recognized.  His commitment to teaching Nevada’s future physicians the importance of compassion, quality of care, and integrity ensures that our healthcare system will be in good hands.”

Dr. Forman’s distinguished achievement will be formally conferred on him on Thursday, April 10, 2014 during the ACP’s annual meeting in Orlando, Florida. He will receive an official diploma and regalia from the awards committee and will return to Nevada with the honor of adding MACP to his credentials, and establishing a milestone in Nevada medical history.