Experts in Pediatric Cancer Treatment and Research to Convene for Memorial Lecture at New York Medical College

Date: July 11, 2013
Media Contact:

Donna Moriarty
(914) 594-4536

VALHALLA, N.Y. — Edward C. Halperin, M.D., M.A., chancellor for health affairs and chief executive officer of New York Medical College, will deliver the 14th Pediatric Cancer Research Foundation (PCRF) Memorial Lectureship on Tuesday, July 16 at 4:00 p.m. in Nevins Auditorium in the Medical Education Center at the College. Since 1992 the Memorial Lectureship, established by the PCRF, has honored the memory of all children who have lost a battle with cancer. Dr. Halperin will present, “The Most Serious Question Now Confronting Pediatric Radiation Oncology.” A reception will immediately follow the lecture.

As a physician-scientist who specializes in radiation therapy for children with cancer, Dr. Halperin maintains a wide scope of interests. His research has focused on pediatric cancer, adult brain tumors, the role of radiotherapy in organ transplantation, various ethical issues, and the history of racial, religious, and gender discrimination in higher education. He has authored more than 200 published articles and multiple editions of two seminal textbooks.

Prior to joining NYMC last year, Dr. Halperin served as dean of the University of Louisville School of Medicine, where he was the Ford Foundation Professor of Medical Education and professor of radiation oncology, pediatrics, and history. He received a B.S. in economics from The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, an M.D. from Yale University, and an M.A. from The Graduate School of Duke University. He did his internship in internal medicine at Stanford University and his residency in radiation oncology at Harvard Medical School/ Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Halperin served for 23 years on the faculty at Duke University, where he held endowed chairs in radiation oncology and medical education, and was chairman of the Department of Radiation Oncology and vice dean of the School of Medicine.