JEWISH HOLY DAYS AND COMMEMORATIONS

SEPT. 1, 2013 – AUG. 31, 2014 Academic Year HOLY DAYS (No school in session and no testing on the following day)

HOLY DAYS  (No school in session and no testing on the following day)
Thursday September 5, 2013 Rosh Hashana - Day 1
Friday September 6, 2013 Rosh Hashana - Day 2
Saturday September 14, 2013 Yom Kippur
Thursday September 19, 2013 Sukkot - Day 1
Friday September 20, 2013 Sukkot - Day 2
Wednesday September 25, 2013 Hoshana Rabba
Thursday September 26, 2013 Shmini Atzereth
Friday September 27, 2013 Simchat Torah
Sunday March 16, 2014 Purim
Tuesday April 15, 2014 Passover - Day 1
Wednesday April 16, 2014 Passover - Day 2
Monday April 21, 2014 Passover - Day 7
Tuesday April 22, 2014 Passover - Day 8
Wednesday June 4, 2014 Shavuot - Day 1
Thursday June 5, 2014 Shavuot - Day 2
Tuesday August 5, 2014 Fast Day (Fast of Tisha B’Av)
SPECIAL DAYS OF COMMEMORATION (Preferably no tests are given)
Wednesday September 4, 2013 Eve of Rosh Hashana
Sunday September 8, 2013 Fast Day (Fast of Gedalia)
Friday September 13, 2013 Eve of Yom Kippur
Wednesday September 18, 2013 Eve of Sukkot
Saturday-Tuesday September 21-24, 2013 Intermediate Days of Sukkot
Friday December 13, 2013 Fast Day (Tenth of Tevet)
Thursday March 13, 2014 Fast Day (Fast of Esther)
Monday April 14, 2014 Eve of Passover
Thursday-Sunday April 17-20, 2014 Intermediate Days of Passover
Tuesday June 3, 2014 Eve of Shavout
Tuesday July 15, 2014 Fast Day (Fast of Tammuz)
Monday August 4, 2014 Eve of Tisha B’Av
OTHER JEWISH DAYS OF COMMEMORATION (No special treatment)
Wednesday-Thursday Nov. 27 – Dec. 5, 2013 Chanukah
Thursday January 16, 2014 Tu Bishvat
Sunday April 27, 2014 Yom HaShoah – Holocaust Memorial Day
Monday May 5, 2014 Yom HaZikaron
Tuesday May 6, 2014 Yom HaAtzmaut
Sunday May 18, 2014 Lag B'Omer
Wednesday May 28, 2014 Yom Yerushalaim
LEGAL HOLIDAYS (No school in session and no testing on the following day)
Monday September 2, 2013 Labor Day
Thursday-Friday November 28-29 Thanksgiving
Wednesday January 1, 2014 New Year’s Day
Monday January 20, 2014 Martin Luther King Day
Monday February 17, 2014 Presidents’ Day
Monday May 26, 2014 Memorial Day
Friday July 4, 2014 Independence Day