- JEWISH HOLY DAYS AND COMMEMORATIONS

JEWISH HOLY DAYS AND COMMEMORATIONS

SEPT. 1, 2014 – AUG. 31, 2015 Academic Year

HOLY DAYS  (No school in session and no testing on the following day)
Thursday September 25, 2014 Rosh Hashana - Day 1
Friday September 26, 2014 Rosh Hashana - Day 2
Saturday October 4, 2014 Yom Kippur
Thursday October 9, 2014 Sukkot - Day 1
Friday October 10, 2014 Sukkot - Day 2
Thursday October 16, 2014 Shmini Atzeret
Friday October 17, 2014 Simchat Torah
Thursday March 5, 2015 Purim
Saturday April 4, 2015 Passover - Day 1
Sunday April 5, 2015 Passover - Day 2
Friday April 10, 2015 Passover - Day 7
Saturday April 11, 2015 Passover - Day 8
Sunday May 24, 2015 Shavuot - Day 1
Monday May 25, 2015 Shavuot - Day 2
Sunday July 26, 2015 Fast Day (Fast of Tisha B’Av)
SPECIAL DAYS OF COMMEMORATION (Preferably no tests are given)
Wednesday September 24, 2014 Eve of Rosh Hashana
Sunday September 28, 2014 Fast Day (Fast of Gedalia)
Friday October 3, 2014 Eve of Yom Kippur
Wednesday October 8, 2014 Eve of Sukkot
Saturday-Tuesday October 11-14 Intermediate Days of Sukkot
Wednesday October 15, 2014 Hoshana Rabba/Eve of Shmini Atzeret
Thursday January 1, 2015 Fast Day (Tenth of Tevet)
Wednesday March 4, 2015 Fast Day (Fast of Esther)
Friday April 3, 2015 Eve of Passover
Monday – Thursday April 6 – 9, 2015 Intermediate Days of Passover
Saturday May 23, 2015 Eve of Shavuot
Sunday July 5, 2015 Fast Day (Fast of Tammuz)
Saturday July 25, 2015 Eve of Tisha B’Av
OTHER JEWISH DAYS OF COMMEMORATION (No special treatment)
Tuesday-Wednesday Dec. 16-24, 2014 Chanukah
Wednesday February 4, 2015 Tu Bishvat
Thursday April 16, 2015 Yom HaShoah – Holocaust Memorial Day
Wednesday April 22, 2015 Yom HaZikaron
Thursday April 23, 2015 Yom HaAtzmaut
Thursday May 7, 2015 Lag B’Omer
Sunday May 17, 2015 Yom Yerushalaim
LEGAL HOLIDAYS (No school in session and no testing on the following day)
Monday September 1, 2014 Labor Day
Thursday-Friday November 27-28, 2014 Thanksgiving
Thursday January 1, 2015 New Year’s Day
Monday January 19, 2015 Martin Luther King Day
Monday February 16, 2015 Presidents’ Day
Monday May 25, 2015 Memorial Day
Friday July 3, 2015* Independence Day