2018 Presidential Faculty Awards

The 2018 Faculty Honored For Their Excellence in Teaching, Service, and Research

May 29, 2018

Six Touro College faculty members were selected for this year’s Presidential Excellence Awards. The awards, initiated in 2017, recognize excellence in faculty members across all Touro College schools in three areas: teaching, research and scholarship, and service. Faculty members can be nominated by any member of the Touro community and are judged by a cross-disciplinary selection team from faculty across Touro. Final decisions are made by Touro’s academic leadership and Touro College and University System President Alan Kadish.

“Teaching, research and scholarship, and service are the core values of our institution,” stated Dr. Kadish. “These awards allow us to acknowledge the exemplary achievements of our faculty.”

“Reading the nominations reminds us of how much of an impact our faculty members have on their students, their community and in their field,” said Touro College Provost Patricia Salkin.

Each recipient received an engraved medal that can be worn on their academic regalia and a monetary award in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments during a luncheon on May 18.

This year’s awardees are:


Steven Krantz, MSW, Ph.D.—Touro College Graduate School of Social Work
Naomi Klapper, MA, LMHC—Lander College for Women—The Anna Ruth and Mark Hasten School
Judith Binstock, MA, Ph.D.—Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine—Harlem Campus
Rena Seplowitz, J.D.—Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center

Research and Scholarship

Howard Feldman, MA, Ph.D.—Lander College for Women—The Anna Ruth and Mark Hasten School


Stephanie Zeszutek, DO, FACOG, RPh—Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine—Middletown Campus

  1. 130200
  2. 130244
  3. 130201
  4. 130246
  5. 130247
  6. 130248