Research Council

The Touro College Research Council consists of faculty members and deans from the Undergraduate and Graduate Divisions and the professional schools in New York.

The mission of the Research Council is:

  • To support and foster research activities across all of Touro’s colleges and schools in New York
  • To expand existing and develop new research programs and research endeavors
  • To support creation of a stable base of active and motivated faculty and long term research support for their work

The Council meets several times a year as it seeks ways to pursue President Kadish’s vision to increase the research footprint across the College and throughout the Touro College and University System.

Two subcommittees have been established by the Research Council to explore various services that can be provided to Touro faculty in support of their research endeavors.

  • Library/Publications Advisory Subcommittee
  • Touro College Research Day Planning Subcommittee

Research Council 2020-2021:


Piotr P. Kozlowski, M.D., Ph.D.
Dean of Research
Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine – Harlem Campus 

Executive Officer

Glenn S. Davis, M.A.
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs


Salomon Amar, DDS, Ph.D.
Research Council at NYMC
Provost for Biomedical Research/Chief Biomedical Research Officer
Touro College and University System

Stanley Boylen, Ph.D.
Vice President, Undergraduate Education and Dean of Faculties

Sabra Brock, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Business & Accounting

Brian Chiswell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Chair, Biology

Velma Cobb, EdD
Director, Lander Center for Educational Research
Graduate School of Education

Howard Feldman, Ph.D.
Professor, Biology
Lander College for Women

Simcha Fishbane, Ph.D.
Executive Assistant to the President
Professor, Graduate School of Jewish Studies

Nadja Graff, Ph.D.
Vice President, Division of Graduate Studies

Zvi Loewy, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Sciences
Touro College of Pharmacy

Ann Nowak, J.D.
Director of the Writing Center, Fuchsburg Law Center

Meira Orentlicher, PH.D.
Professor, Occupational Therapy Program
School of Health Sciences

Steven Pirutinsky, PH.D.
Associate Professor
Graduate School of Social Work

Louis Primavera, Ph.D.
School of Health Sciences - Touro College

Patricia Salkin, J.D.
Provost, Graduate and Professional Divisions

Sara Tabaei, MLIS, M.A.
Information Literacy Services Director
Midtown Library

Timothy Valente, MI
Scholarly Communications Librarian
Midtown Library

David Yens, Ph.D.
Director of Research
Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine-Middletown